A Distressed Christmas… Part Two

Today I wanted to showcase some non-traditional (aka not red and green) Christmas cards I made using some background pieces I made. The steps were covered in this post I made earlier.

The first card was made using a stamp from Stampabilities, VersaMark ink and two embossing powders. Starting with the background, I stamped the image in VersaMark ink then heatset the white embossing powder. Before it had a chance to cool, I dumped on some Holographic glitter embossing powder from Ranger. A quick flash from the heat gun and that glitter is stuck!

StampabilitiesCloseup

That glitter doesn’t show well from the photograph but it makes a really nice statement on the card. I trimmed the background piece down and adhered it to a Bazzill Marshmallow card base using some red sticky tape. It kept that slightly warped cardstock PERMANENTLY adhered to the card base.

Stampabilities1

The next card was made using the Let It Snow stamp set from Avery Elle. I used the trees and “all is bright, all is calm” sentiment from the set, stuck them to my Fiskars stamp press and quickly made four card fronts in no time!

I also stamped the birds from the set and fussy cut them out. They were popped up on foam dots. These card fronts were also trimmed down and put on a Bazzill card base and some bakers twine was added to the spine of the card.

AllCalmAllBright

I made a similar set of cards using the same stamp set but switching up the sentiment.

WarmWishes

Following suite, I made a pair of cards with a sentiment from the Winter Wreath set from Avery Elle.

PeaceLoveJoy

The last set of cards was made using the same stamp set, again, but this time I stamped the tree background several times and added a few extra branches with my VersaMark pen. I stamped those cute little birds and colored them in several different colors. I added the “All is calm, All is bright” sentiment on some vellum and adhered it all down to the card front. Adhered that on a Bazzill card base and added some twine and glossy accents. (The birds were meant to serve as Christmas lights.)

Birds

CloseupBirds1

As you might have noticed, I’m really enjoying the Avery Elle stamp sets for cards this year. It’s really versatile and is a wonderful balance of cute and classy.
Thanks for stopping by!!

Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

