A Winter Wreath with Paws

I made some Christmas cards for a good friend of mine recently, and this was the very first time I’ve ever been asked to make a set for sale! It was really fun to come up with an idea for a friend and then actually make the set for them. Especially when using these two very festive stamp sets.

The first stamp set is from Avery Elle, called Winter Wreath and the other is a Paper Smooches set called Santa Paws.

I met my friend at the animal shelter I used to work at so it’s only fitting to use the “fleas navidad” sentiment from the Paper Smooches set.

I started with some Avery Elle cardstock cut down to make a square 4.25″ card. I find that this heavy-weight cardstock takes the Momento ink really well and absorbs more ink than my usual go-to Bazzill. I first placed a fussy cut bow, to act as a mask, then stamped the wreath image in Pear Tart ink.

step1again

I next turned the stamp a bit and stamped the wreath again in Bamboo Leaves ink. I like the two-toned look and added fullness it gives to the wreath.

step2

I removed the mask and began stamping the bow and sentiment. I placed a fussy cut dog over the card so I could avoid making him look like he had pine cones coming out of his head or a holly berry on his nose.

step4

I then popped up the pooch on some foam adhesive and added a little Santa hat with some glossy accents. In hind sight, and for the other 19 I made, I adhered all of the Santa hats on before sticking them to the card… So much easier.

step5

So here’s one of the finished cards. In total, the 20 took me about four hours to produce since there was so much coloring and fussy cutting, outlining, etc. that had to be done but I had so much fun! I tend to get bored when mass-producing cards but since I was able to knock out the individual accents so quickly, I was able to keep trucking through the whole project.

doghatcover

It didn’t photograph well but I used some enamel accents for the dogs eyes and nose, I think it gives him a bit more character.

dognose

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

