The Last of the First

This is the very last post in the series of posts I made about my donation to OWH.  This post will cover two sets of cards I made by paper-piecing. The first set was made to be sent home to a son and the second to a daughter.

For the set of ‘son’ cards, I used my favorite 6×6 paper pad from echo park. This is the only 6×6 pad that I have purchased multiples of because I ran out! It’s perfect for masculine cards as well as vintage-looking feminine cards.

I used the same design on each of the cards but moved the banners around to keep it interesting. The stamp I used on the ‘son’ cards came from the Family Ties stamp set from Pebbles.

IMG_5642

IMG_5640

IMG_5639

IMG_5638

IMG_5637

IMG_56361

I love those little cameras! They are really adorable on the 12″x12″ set as well!

For the ‘daughter’ set, I thought the sentiment from the New Arrival Girl stamp set from Pebbles. Although it’s meant to be a “new baby girl” kind of set, I thought that by playing it up with a paper pad that was feminine but didn’t scream ‘baby’, I could make the recipient of these cards be any daughter, not just the little ones.

The paper pad I used for these cards was from, ironically enough, the Baby Jane collection from Cosmo Cricket. I followed the same design idea as the masculine cards but white heat embossed the ‘baby girl’ sentiment on some teal paper out of the pad. Fairly simple, and I think I liked the feminine cards a bit more than the masculine ones.

IMG_5652

IMG_5650

IMG_5645

IMG_5647

IMG_5652

IMG_5646

So that’s it for my first Operation Write Home donation. It totaled around 60 or so cards, and for me it was quite an accomplishment. Between class, mid terms and work (plus having a life on the side), I’m not really sure how I managed to get them all finished.  But now that this series of posts is finally wrapped up, I can move on to all of the Christmas creations I’ve been working on.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

