Christmas in October?

Fall has already begun, I’m finally getting around to making my own Christmas cards.  Last year, I decided on hand-painted ornaments for the ladies at my local animal shelter (where I used to work) and I started that project in August. So by that standard, I’m way behind. However, since I’ll only be making cards this year, maybe only a little behind. But since I graduate in a month, maybe a lot behind. Anyway… on to the point of this post!

Christmas cards was another theme I donated to Operation Write Home back in October, which I first discussed in this blog post.

I wanted to utilize the same technique of multi-sentiment stamping on a few cards but also make use of the group of Christmas stamps I have from Paper Smooches. These cards were actually dreamed up over the summer when I ordered these adorable stamp sets; I’m only just now getting the time to share them.

I began by aligning all of the stamps on to a trimmed down piece of cardstock measuring a standard A2 card (4.25″ x 5.5″). This helped me to see exactly just how much room I had for the card. Like before, this was a painstaking process due to my impatient hands, but the final result was well worth it in my opinion. I then used my Fiskars Compact Stamp Press to grab all of the stamps. I ended up taking off the “Happy Christmas” sentiment so I could stamp it in red ink.

IMG_5990[1]

For these cards, I used Tsukineko Brilliance ink in Pearlescent Thyme and Rocket Red. After stamping the base of these cards, I went back with my “Happy Christmas” in red and added small details around the empty spots.

On the back, after stamping the OWH logo, I added a small gift stamp from Paper Smooches. I thought it made the back look a little more festive.

IMG_5985[1]

In my donation, I also included a very simple set of Christmas cards using this stamp from Simon Says Stamp along with a sentiment from Paper Smooches.  I stamped the image using Tsukineko Tuxedo Black ink, since I colored the animals in using alcohol markers. I later stamped the sentiment in VersaFine Onyx Black ink since it gives such a nice impression (even on watercolor paper!).

IMG_5980[1]IMG_5979[1]IMG_5978[1]IMG_5977[1]

The back of these cards were all stamped with the same OWH logo and a small bird stamp (also from Paper Smooches). Always need more festive flair!

IMG_5987[1]

If you’re interested in donating to Operation Write Home, please check out their site. OWH is a non-profit organization which accepts donations of cards for our heroes as well as monetary donations to offset shipping costs.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

