Thanks… A Lot

Seeing as it’s been several months since I’ve made a post here, I thought I would share a project I’ve been working on- aside from moving, starting another semester, mid-terms, and graduation preparation, etc…

One goal I’ve had for my card-making hobby was to get involved with an organization. Over the summer, I stumbled upon an organization called Operation Write Home. This non-profit org’s mission is “supporting our nation’s armed forces by sending blank handmade greeting cards to write home on, as well as ‘AnyHero’ cards of gratitude to encourage them,” so I felt it was a worthy cause.

After reading up on the requirements for the cards to be used, I started with a card theme I make a lot of, ‘thank you’ note cards. For this card, I broke out my Many Thanks from Paper Smooches, Handwritten Notes from Avery Elle, and the Lots of Thanks set from Simon Says Stamp (SSS).  For the center “Thanks!” on the card, I used the Banner Says set from SSS.

For this technique, I began by taking a piece of cardstock and trimming it to the size of an A2 card (4.25″ x 5.5″) and then arranged my sentiments on the cardstock, making sure to cover as much area as possible. This does take some time and patience, especially if you keep bumping the stamps around- like I’m so good at, but in the end, you have a really unique piece which can be used to mass-produce many cards.After aligning them on the cardstock, I used my Fiskars stamp press to pickup all of the stamps at once (sans the middle “THANKS!” stamp since that will be added later).

IMG_5928[1]

When I make cards like this, I like to stamp the design on some cardstock so I can hang on to it for future cards. When you have the whole patterned saved like this, you can come back later and just piece the stamps over the image and you don’t have to re-create the wheel, so to speak.

IMG_5929[1]

Now here comes the mass-producing part… I masked off one side of the card using a huge post-it note, loaded up the stamp press with some VersaFine Black Onyx ink and went to town. You can quickly make 5, 10, 20+ cards and the results are really unique. I decided to use a bunch of different color Bazzill paper so they didn’t look so cookie-cutter.

IMG_5930[1]

Next comes that middle “THANKS!” stamp. I grabbed a bunch of Momento ink in various colors, inked up my stamp and stamped it on some plain white cardstock. After trimming the pieces I used some foam adhesive to adhere them to the front of the card, mixing up the colors so the sentiment really “popped”.

IMG_5933[1]

To finish off the card, I stamped the backs of all the cards with the OWH logo and prepped the cards in the envelopes. Here are some of the other “Thank you” cards I made for this donation.

IMG_5931[1]IMG_5934[1]IMG_5935[1]IMG_5932[1]

If you’d like to get involved with Operation Write Home, please check out their guidelines before you create. There’s lots of information regarding this cause located on their website and they are great about answering any questions you may have.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

