Thinking of Kitty

Two posts in one day? I’m trying to play catch up… trying.

Here is a card that steps out of my normal realm of card fronts- splatter watercolor and mixing that with patterned paper? Can’t say I’ve ever done that before… But I can now!

The challenge for my online card class was to make a card that is outside of your “normal” card-range. And for me, I feel like I combined more mediums, embellishments and materials than I ever normally would. But surprisingly, I liked the outcome.

I began with the watercolor portion of my card, since I knew it would take some time to dry enough to punch through. I used Tim Holtz Distress Ink pads in Tumbled Glass and Peacock Feathers for the base of blues on the paper. After I set that with my heat tool, I came back and, using a small paint brush, I picked up color from a purple watercolor pencil and “flung” it onto the paper. I was so worried that I would completely ruin the paper, but it came out alright.  I followed a similar process to color the purple background using Tim Holtz Dusty Concord ink.

Next came that kitty- I used this stamp set from SimonSaysStamp.com and colored the cat using only the Tim Holtz Wild Honey ink. It’s amazing the depth of color you can get from a single ink pad. After the pieces of watercolor paper were completely dry, I fussy cut the cat out and punched a circle for the cat to peak out of.

I used some foam square adhesive around the top of the punched circle to give some dimension to the window. To finish the top of the card off, I wrapped around some twine from Paper Smooches.

photo 3

And on to the bottom: I assembled the rest of the card using some patterned paper from Authentique out of their Essentials Collection and some plain dark brown cardstock. I added the sentiment (from this stamp set) on some vellum and white heat embossed it.  And again, adhered it to the paper using some Tombow Vellum adhesive (works like a charm).

Once I had all of the pieces assembled, I adhered the entire piece to a kraft card base using some foam square adhesive. Voila!

photo 1

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

