happy 4 you

This week’s color combination for my online class was definitely way more feminine than last week’s blues and greens and my brain was thankful! Since I’m usually making cards for women, I suppose my brain has been trained to think that way.

I decided to utilize one of the sketches from class and try something a little different. Usually I don’t mix mediums with my sentiments (i.e. all stamped, all sticker letters, etc.) but I thought it would be worth a try.

I grabbed some light purple textured cardstock and gave it a tone-on-tone look by stamping some Inkadinkado Doodle Flowers in some dark purple ink. I used blue/teal cardstock for the top of the card front and heat embossed the word “happy” in black. I assembled these two at an angle and trimmed the pieces down to fit an A2 card, leaving an 1/8″ border (so cut to 4″ by 5.25″).

Here’s where the NEW part comes into play. Not only did I use some foam Thickers to spell out “4 you” on the bottom half of the card, but then to match the shiny embossing, I actually heat embossed the Thickers.

IMG_4290[1]

Since the letters are raised, I carefully applied my VersaMark pad directly to the letters on the card front and then added the embossing powder.  Then I VERY CAREFULLY ran my heat tool over the letters, paying a lot of attention not to melt the letters in the process.  (Think styrofoam meets a hot glue gun- it melts!)

I finished off the card front with some AC purple twine and adhered the entire piece to a kraft card base. TADAA.

IMG_4294[1]

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

