Blue, Green and a Little Birdie

The last week has been really busy and I haven’t had a chance to share these cards but here are the last two I made for last week’s online card class.

The first was a real struggle for me since the challenge was to use a holiday stamp (Christmas mostly) and use it to make a non-holiday card. Definitely something I’ve never done before but I gave it a try.

After digging through a box of stamps and coming up with zero creative ideas (probably because most were of ornaments or snowflakes) I turned to a small square stamp which said “Happy Holidays” surrounded by a thick border. I decided to just use the border of the stamp since it had some small flowers (artistic poinsettias) and I could pretty easily use that as a frame.  I’ve been stuck on a stamp set of birds lately, so I decided to use it again.

So I stamped a few birds and colored them. I finally decided on this yellow guy because I thought he would fill the window pretty well. I clear embossed the image using the same technique I talked about in this post.

IMG_4289[1]

The background for the window was done using some Tim Holtz Distress Markers in Tumbled Glass and adding water until I was happy with the outcome.  I used a similar technique to color some watercolor paper to use for the sentiment.

For the sentiment paper, I first applied some Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Peeled Paint and Shabby Shutters to my work surface and added water until I had some good flow to the colors. I then placed the water color paper face-down onto the work surface and squished it around a bit. Then I lifted it up and set the colors with my heat tool. I then went back and dabbed the paper in some of the pools of ink until I was happy with how the paper looked. It creates a really neat background with a lot of dimension.

IMG_4287[1]

I trimmed the paper down to a ribbon and added the sentiment from Paper Smooches using VersaFine Black Onyx ink. I love how crisp the image comes out, EVERY TIME!

To finish the card, I assembled the pieces on some cream cardstock and adhered the entire panel to a kraft card base. I added a line border using Tim Holtz Distress Marker in Tumbled Glass, and DONE!

IMG_4288[1]

Not really sure I’m too wild about his card, but I think it may have more to do with the color combination being a little more masculine than I’m used to.

The next card I actually really liked! I used the same watercolor technique I described earlier and colored some watercolor paper for the card front. However, for this card I first stamped the paper with a Lace Doilies stamp from Inkadinkado using some VersaMark and then clear embossed the paper. I wasn’t worried about the image being so perfect since the water coloring wasn’t going to be either.

For the water coloring, I used several Tim Holtz ink pads: Tumbled Glass, Peacock Feathers, Peeled Paint, and Vintage Photo. I think the small spots where I dabbed the paper back into the water color pools look so neat.

For the sentiment, I wanted to make sure I wouldn’t completely hide all the water coloring so I cut some vellum down to just over 2.5″ and cut a banner on one end. Next I stamped a sentiment from SimonSaysStamp.com onto the vellum using some StazOn Jet Black ink (the “SO” is added from the same Paper Smooches stamp set). This ink is great for slick surfaces like vellum because it dries pretty quickly and does NOT smudge!

IMG_4285[1]

I added some twine to the banner and tied it in a bow. I thought this added a subtle touch without distracting from the card front too much. I then adhered the vellum to the watercolor piece using some Tombow Vellum adhesive and folded the excess over to the back of the paper and used some Tombow permanent adhesive to really keep it in place. The entire piece went onto a kraft card base and I called it DONE!

IMG_4286[1]Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

