Some FRIEND-ly Cards

Here are two cards that I made recently, one was for the card class I’m taking, another was an attempt at a tone-on-tone effect.

The first card was really 90% assembly. I began by heat embossing some vellum with the “Friends are Flowers” stamp from Hero Arts using VersaMark and AC ZING! white embossing powder. *Note that for this card, since I would be wrapping the vellum around the card, I stamped the image with the vellum in a portrait style, that way I had plenty of vellum to wrap to the back of the card.

photo 2

After trimming the vellum down, I went ahead and glued the ends of the strip to the back side of the card and covered the seam using some decorative washi tape. Now comes for that 90%- I’m fairly indecisive when it comes to crafting and so simple cards are never quite so simple for me. The last step was to figure out the placement for these paper flowers which took some time. I adhered them all down using glue dots and called it done!

photo 3

A very simplistic card but I like how much the paper flowers really pop off of the card.

The second card was done more recently for the online card class I’m in.  I began by choosing a stamp set from Paper Smooches (Chitt Chatt) but I needed the word “an” to complete my sentiment (You are AN amazing friend). So, I ended up using a Tim Holtz marker to hand-write it in after I stamped the first part “you are”.

photo 2

I used a technique for “amazing” to make it pop off the card a bit: I first inked up my stamp using VersaMark then picked up ColorBox Chestnut Roan ink and then stamped it onto the vellum. This way I had a sticky stamped image to clear emboss over. The result looks pretty neat.

photo 4

So lastly, I assembled the pieces of kraft cardstock to the card base with some Tombow Mono permanent adhesive (this stuff is VERY permanent-definitely no re-positioning with this stuff) and used Tombow’s vellum adhesive on the “amazing sentiment”. I finished off the card using some AC twine and added a small blue heart to meet the color requirements for the class.

This card is a little unusual for me, I usually don’t use such bright card bases (mostly stick with white, kraft or a much softer color) and piece some kraft for the sentiment but I’m mostly happy with the outcome.

photo 3

Thanks for reading.

If you have any questions or just want to say HI, please leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply

