10 Minute Card Challenge

Hello again. This post should have gone up last week- my apologies…

So last Thursday was “challenge day” for my online card class and the challenge was creating a card- in only 10 minutes! I’ve watched videos of other card makers attempt 10 minute (and even 5 MINUTE!) challenges and it always seemed impossible for someone like me. Well, I was only slightly wrong.

I was able to crank out a card in just over 10 minutes by using some simple supplies. Here’s the card I was able to create.

IMG_4181[1]

I think if I had a bit more initial planning, I could have easily done this card in under 10 minutes.

First I used a scoring board and stylus to add a border to the card base and then I trimmed down a piece of white cardstock  to 3″ by 5″. Next came the washi tape. I used some colors I had on-hand according to this week’s color combination (teal, orange and pink). These stripped washi tapes all came from Target (4 coordinating patterned colors for about $5). The final grey strip came from Wal-Mart for about $1.50. As you can tell, I am a thrifty crafter.

Here’s where I got hung up- I couldn’t decide which sentiment to use! After trying on several stamp sets, I finally decided on one from SimonSaysStamp.com and was back in business. Stamped the image in some VersaFine black onyx ink and then adhered the whole piece to the card base with some foam adhesive. I finished the card off with a pink heart and yet another flower piece.  And DONE!

IMG_4183[1]

I really liked this color combination. It was definitely perfect for summer!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

