Happy Birthday!

My card for today was inspired by a card made by a wonderful crafter, Kristina Werner (www.kwernerdesign.com/blog). If you’e never stopped by her blog, you should. She has weekly videos, mini series, online card classes, and more! My inspiration came from this blog post specifically, http://www.kwernerdesign.com/blog/?p=7792.

Image

For my take on this masculine birthday card, I used a paper pack from My Mind’s Eye ( 6×6 Dilly Dally), a “Happy Birthday” stamp from Momenta and some American Crafts black twine.

Image

First I cut a piece of the light blue paper down to 3″ x 4 1/4″ and adhered it to the card base. I added some detail by adding some scoring lines around the paper. This took some careful guess work, but overall it was not a difficult step.
Next, I trimmed down a left over piece of kraft paper to use as a base for the ribbon/banner on the card. The dimensions for the banner were 2 3/4″ x 4 1/4″ (roughly, there was a bit of trimming once I realized the banner was nearly as tall as the card!).

I stamped the sentiment, using some StazOn ink in Jet Black, onto the lined paper from the pack. I trimmed down the paper around the stamped image but left the sides so I could let it trail down to the card base.

After trimming down some pieces of patterned paper and adhering it to the banner, I added some of that AC black twine and tied a bow. The last step was to adhere the banner to the card and trim off the excess pieces from the sentiment. I finished it all off with some simple dashed lines around that blue paper on the card base.

Image

Voila! A masculine birthday card which will be sent out to my brother in just a few short weeks.

Please leave questions/comments below. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

